Goal setting for eating disorders
Binge Eating Recovery goals

Do you set new year resolutions to stop binge eating? I used to set regimental new year’s resolutions

·         Loose 5kg,

·         Loose 30 cm

·         Be a size 6

·         Run x amount a week to work off my holiday fat

·         Workout 6 days a week

In the past, I would always be extremely good at sticking to my new year’s goals for 3-5 weeks and then life happened, I would eat one small thing out of the plan and then fall back into the “I’ll start again on Monday” mentality

Listen to the episode here

My Binge eating recovery journey
Emotional eating Goals for a healthy body

Here are my thoughts on I’ll start again on Monday,

Riding a bike can be fun but it can also be hard, I love riding but if you know me well, you will know that I’m not a fan of hills. They are so hard.

Recovery from overeating or binge eating is like riding up a hill. Your body wants to take the easy route, you get tired, maybe you even get off and push the bike but you never say “wow, this is so hard, I had to get off the bike so I’m just going to start again at the bottom of the hill”.

I’ll start again on Monday mentality is like starting at the bottom of the hill, every single Monday. Will you ever conquer the hill that way or would you have been better off peddling slowly up the hill till you made it to the top?

Setting goals and resolutions are most likely going to have you back on the “I’ll start again on Monday” train. What I teach my  clients and yoga students is setting a Sankalpa instead,

Sankalpa is a Sanskrit yogic philosophy principle by which you set a heartfelt intention. Instead of focusing on physical outcomes Sankalpa tunes into how we want to feel. How we feel is in the now not when we achieve something

I would fall prey to “I would be happy when I’m skinny”, or “I will love my body when she’s a size 6”

truth is the gage always shifted when got skinny, I was still not happy, I wanted to change more of my body

When I finally starved my body into a size 6 , I found more fault with her and despised her even more

We cannot rely on the future to bring us happiness, we have no control over the future.

What we do have is control over right now and right now we can choose to be kind, compassionate, loving or forgiving to ourselves and others and that is what brings true happiness and joy, not finning into your skinny jeans from high school

Here are some easy steps to set a Sankalpa

1.      Make your intention about how you want to show up in the world

How do you want to be in the world (kind, loving, caring)?

How do you want to feel (joyful, happy, nurturing)

2.      Phrase your intention positively

“I have a peaceful nature” instead  of “I want peace in my life”

“I’m loving towards my body” instead of “I want a smaller body”

“I show myself kindness” instead of “ I will be happy when I lose weight”

3.      Keep it simple,

A complex Sankalpa is hard to remember, you can even use images or scents instead of words

4.      Come back to your intention whenever you feel out of alignment with your Sankalpa

There will be days where old habits of self-loathing will come back, the beauty is, you can choose to wallow in self-pity or come back to your intention


Overcome Binge eating Challenge

If you want more information on how to finally quit binge eating for good go to http://quit.wholesomelifestyleproject.com/

BOOK A FREE 20 MIN CONSULTATION WITH Me https://wholesomelifestyleproject.wordpress.com/work-with-me/lets-get-started/

Can’t wait to see you in the next episode where I will be sharing some drivers behind overeating

Subscribe here to get all the latest episodes. : https://kite.link/Beyond-Overeating-by-Wholesome-Lifestyle-project

JOIN MY FREE FACEBOOK GROUP –https://www.facebook.com/groups/crushyourhealthgoals

BOOK A FREE 20 MIN CONSULTATION WITH STEL: HERE

Leave a comment